Blow Monkeys

The Blow Monkeys formed in 1981 and released their first single “Live Today Love Tomorrow” in 1982.  The band is led by lead singer, songwriter and guitarist Dr Robert with Mick Anker on bass guitar, Neville Henry on saxophone and Tony Kiley on drums.  Their first chart success came in 1986 with the single “Digging Your Scene” which was taken from their second album Animal Magic.  The track became a worldwide hit reaching number 12 on the UK singles chart, number 14 on the Billboard Hot 100 as well as charting in Italy and Germany. 

The band’s third album “She Was Only A Grocer’s Daughter” was released in 1987 and went to number 20 in the UK charts.  Their follow up single “It Doesn’t Have To Be This Way” was taken from that album and reached number 5 in the UK singles chart.  The band had eleven singles and four albums in the UK charts between1986 and 1990.

The original band members announced their reunion in 2007 and have since released four albums, including a live performance at the 100 Club.  In 2013 Sony Music released a three disc boxed set “Halfway To Heaven : The Best Of The Blow Monkeys and Dr Robert” which includes music from The Blow Monkeys, solo tracks from Dr Robert as well as the Hammersmith Palais concert from 1984.









  • Chilfest sponsor
  • Company Fusion Ltd